The Golden Dove Awards honored the best of the broadcast media for 2013 during awards ceremonies last April 29, 2014 at the Star City Theatre in Pasay City. The awards capped the celebration of Broadcasters’ Month and the 41st founding anniversary of the Kapisanan ng mga Brodkaster ng Pilipinas (KBP), the association of the broadcast media in the Philippines.

22nd_gda_1NiƱo Padilla of DYEZ-AM receives the Golden Dove Award for Best AM Station-Provincial. KBP Chairman Ruperto Nicdao, Jr. presented the award.22nd_gda_2March Ventosa of ABS-CBN receives Golden Dove Best Metro Manila TV Station Award.

The Golden Dove Awards was established 22 years ago by the KBP to encourage excellence and high professional standards in the broadcast media as well as to promote more responsible broadcasting. The winners of the Golden Dove Awards, except for the Lifetime Achievement Award, are chosen yearly by a Board of Judges whose members come from the sectors which significantly influence the values reflected by the broadcast media: youth, government, academe, advertising, and religious sectors. The recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award is decided by the KBP Board of Trustees.


The winners of the Golden Dove trophy this year were led by ABS-CBN, which garnered a total of 24 awards, 17 for television and 7 for radio, including Best TV Station (Metro Manila), Best TV Newscast (Metro Manila), Best TV-Newscast (Provincial), and Best Radio Newscast (Metro Manila).

Manila Broadcasting Company (MBC) got five awards including Best AM Station (Metro Manila), Best AM Station (Provincial), Best FM Station (Provincial), Best Radio Newscast (Provincial), and Best Radio Culture and Arts Program.

For the fourth straight year, DYRX-93.1 “Monster Radio” of Audiovisual Communications won the Best FM Station award, aside from winning four other awards: Best Radio Variety Program, Best Radio Comedy Program, Best Radio Public Service Program Host, Best Radio Variety Program Host.

This year, the Golden Dove Lifetime Achievement Award for broadcasting was given by the KBP to Eugenio “Gabby” Lopez III, Board Chairman of ABS-CBN Corporation. His father Eugenio Lopez, Jr. was conferred the same award in 1998.

The Ka Doroy Broadcaster of the Year Award was given to Angelo Palmones of MBC.

See List of Winners >>